RSS

The Magdalena Statue: Introduction & Pose Mock-Up

12 Jun

The Magdalena isn’t just a great looking character with a very interesting, detailed costume.  She also has a well conceived, layered back story that is epic in its scope.  In sculpting this wonderful character, I wanted to design a pose that was more dramatic in approach than had been previously done in full statue form.  While researching the character I came across some beautiful designs by a number of talented artists, but one in particular caught my eye.  This was a painted piece that Joe Linsner had done some time ago.  What struck me most was that Joe had drawn her holding the swords in a Christian cross.  That image was so powerful and perfect for this character that I had to incorporate that image in this piece.

I took that basic element, the crossed swords, and worked up several poses in a 7” format. Each pose had its own merit, but one in particular stood out and that is the one you see here.  I posed the armature first (photo 1) and checked it from all angles to see how it worked in 360 degrees.  It’s not always necessary in the thumbnail stage to sculpt the costume, but in this case I went ahead and worked up the look of the costume to get an impression of the full effect the statue would have.  So here is what I came up with and Top Cow loved the look.  I hope you agree with the choices I’ve made and I look forward to continuing to update you on the progress.  Remember, this rough is just that — a rough — and it’s just a go by.  There will be some adjustments and modifications as I get into the sculpting of the full statue.  We’ll have the next stage ready to show you in a week or so.  Until then, take care and thanks for reading!

–Clayburn Moore


 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2011 in The Magdalena

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Magdalena Statue: Introduction & Pose Mock-Up

  1. Mitchell Ivey

    June 12, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Awesome looking statue. I’m ready to pre-order now!

     
  2. Paul Alvis

    June 12, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Love the whole pose and feel of the sculpt, and with the cape showing her as if shes reacting to something beside her. Awesome!

     
  3. John Gallimore

    June 13, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Looking really good, Clay. I’m excited at the thought of the completed piece. I’ll start clearing a space for it now.

     
  4. Dexter Tanedo

    June 25, 2011 at 4:23 am

    Beautiful and Strong Rendition of one of Top Cow comics stunning character… The Magdalena. You did not only give her justice but you gave this statue its true spirit and soul. I can’t wait for it in my collection.

     
  5. Jamie

    July 8, 2011 at 10:43 am

    This should look amazing with the just-released Angelus. Now, all we need is an updated Witchblade. I really have nothing against the previous versions of her, but I would like something portraying more action like Angelus and now Mags. I still find the original Witchblade amazing.

    One thing I do noticed about this sculpt, is she doesn’t have the typical Clay curves. Hopefully they get added later in the process.

     

Leave a Comment

 
